From September 2017, the House system is being reintroduced to St Edward’s College. Breaking down the school community into smaller groups is helpful to integrating pupils and students of different ages, developing a spirit of competitiveness, nurturing skills and talents, providing a springboard for representative honours for those who might not otherwise be good enough to represent the school as a whole, and developing leadership capabilities.

There will be six Houses:

  • Clare
  • Domingo
  • Hope
  • Mersey
  • Rice
  • Sefton

Each student will be given a badge of the house they represent during their time at the school. House badges will be part of the St Edward’s Sixth Form College dress code and must be displayed on the lapel of every student.

Each house is made up of seven tutor groups which are overseen by a Head of House. There will be three tutor groups per House in Sixth Form, comprising both Upper and Lower Sixth students.

During our recent prefect team selection process, House Captains were appointed alongside House prefects overseeing different areas of school life. Our Arts, Academic, Chaplaincy, Sport, International, Peer Counselling and Service Prefects will work with their House Captains and Heads of House to encourage cooperation and competition amongst and between the Houses.